Overview of CAG

The Central Arizona Governments (CAG) was incorporated in 1975 and is one of six regional planning districts, or Councils of Government (COGs), which was established by Executive Order 70-2 and signed by the Governor of Arizona to provide effective regional planning services to Gila and Pinal counties.  The goal of Executive Order 70-2 was to promote a “community of interest” and to preserve the boundaries of the region.  The Executive Order established a population base throughout the region sufficient to support a number of planning activities, while complying with federal planning requirements and addressing the concerns of local government officials.  The CAG Region is comprised of Gila and Pinal counties, and includes the 17 incorporated communities of Apache Junction, Casa Grande, Coolidge, Eloy, Florence, Globe, Hayden, Kearny, Marana, Mammoth, Maricopa, Miami, Payson, Queen Creek, Star Valley, Superior and Winkelman.  The Ak-Chin Indian Community, Gila River Indian Community, San Carlos Apache Tribe, and White Mountain Apache Tribe are also members of the region.